# South East Technological University

Image of illuminated SETU University Building

South East Technological University (SETU, formerly Waterford Institute of Technology) is a university-level institution in the South-East of Ireland with over 10,000 students and 1,000 staff.

SETU offers tuition and research programmes in various areas from Higher Certificate to Degree to PhD.

# Academics

SETU is the major provider of higher education in the South East region of Ireland and one of the largest IOT’s in Ireland. The Institute’s range and scope reflect the changing needs of the southeast as well as the country as a whole.

The range of academic programmes is exceptionally extensive, ranging from Higher Certificate right through to post-doctoral research and covering the Humanities, Health and Nursing, Science and Informatics, Engineering and Architecture, Business and Education.

# Exchange Programme

South East Technological University (SETU) has inter-institutional agreements with over 100 universities within the EU and over 25 universities internationally. Every year we welcome over 200 students on our Erasmus+ and International Exchange Programmes into our Schools of Business, Humanities, Science, Engineering and Health Sciences.

Erasmus+ is for students attending our partner institutes within the EU and the International Exchange Programme is for students attending our partner institutes outside the EU. Both Exchange Programmes provide opportunities for students from all over the world to join and contribute to our vibrant, multicultural community at SETU. Spending a few months in a different culture and community is the best opportunity to establish intercultural contacts, have a valuable insight into a different culture, learn a language and grow as a person.

There are many benefits for SETU also. Two of the most important are: having a diverse community that enriches our own students’ learning experience and building our international connectivity for the next generation.

Nomination and Application Deadlines

To qualify for one of our Exchange Programmes, SETU must have a valid agreement with your University who must nominate you. We cannot accept applications from students who have not been nominated. If you have any questions, please speak with your academic advisor or the coordinator in your international office first.
To be nominated, a SETU Student Exchange Nomination form must be completed in electronic format by your academic advisor and sent to studentexchange@wit.ie before the nomination deadline outlined below.

Download a SETU Student Exchange Nomination form here:

SETU Erasmus+ Exchange Student Nomination Form (EU) (opens new window)

SETU International Exchange Student Nomination Form (Non-EU) (opens new window)

Autumn Semester/ Academic Year

Nomination deadline: 01 May

Application deadline: 15 May

Spring Semester

Nomination deadline: 04 October

Application deadline: 14 October

Nomination to Registration - What to expect Guide (opens new window)

# Waterford